Sew Much More

February 5, 2007

Curtain Weekend

Filed under: sewing projects,sewing/craft room — by michellew @ 11:50 am

I’ve been developing this long list in my mind of projects/crafts that I want to do.  But before I let myself do too many fun things, I’m making myself do some more boring practical stuff.  So thanks to Bob watching the kids, I spent this past Saturday morning making curtains for my sewing room. 

It is fun to create, even if it is just making curtains.  But this fabric was giving me fits!  I started sewing them on Friday afternoon on my new machine.  So I was shocked to find that the stitch length varying greatly (without me changing the stitch length).  So I quickly called the Pro-Sew shop where we bought the machine and wanted help.  He told me that whenever any machine has stitch length variance that the problem is most likely the needle. (Amy N., maybe that’s the problem with your machine?)  So I changed the needle, that didn’t help, and I called back, more than a little frustrated.  We just determined that it was the kind of fabric I was using.  Because when I switched to different fabric it didn’t have the problem. 

The best way I can describe this fabric is stretch-shear-paisley-blue-gauze.  Hey I got it for $1 a yard at wally so I’m not complaining.  Well I was complaining on Saturday though.  Ugh, I guess there was a reason it was 1 dollar a yard.  Anyway, enough complaining, they’re done!  Here’s some pictures.  They’re fun, and I really like them with the gold.  Man I’m going so much more bold with this room than I would in other parts of the house, but it makes it fun.  I love how they look when the light comes through the window, but you can’t really get that from the pictures.  So you’ll just have to stop by and see them, tho don’t look too closely at those aweful stitches!

 dsc02216.jpg dsc02218.jpg dsc02219.jpg 

dsc02222.jpg dsc02210.jpg

Alice dressed up for church, she loves that hat.

dsc02207.jpg

2 Comments »

  1. Those really are pretty. And it is nice that you are adding touches to your sewing room that will hopefully inspire you to create even more! Good job powering through with the tough fabric. It looks really great.

    Comment by mrscrumley — February 5, 2007 @ 2:42 pm |Reply

  2. […] Laundry Room Designs,  (my sewing room is also my laundry room), The Blue Paisley (after my curtains in my sewing room), St. Elmo Handmade.  I’m really not sure if I like any of those yet or […]

    Pingback by Organizing « Sew Much More — February 26, 2008 @ 2:01 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

