Sew Much More

August 19, 2007

Artsy Caleb

Filed under: being crafty — by michellew @ 9:19 am

If there was a theme in the gifts Caleb received for his birthday, it was definitely art supplies.  I love it, and so does he!  He’s always been way into, almost serious about, coloring with crayons and markers.  He’s received one of those “painting” books where you paint with water and loved that.  He got play-doh for his birthday and has played with it at least once a day since then.  I always had this fear of play-doh, that it was going to be too much of a mess and a pain to deal with.  What the heck was I thinking?  Caleb absolutely loves it and will spend a long time at the table just playing away.  He’ll even do that instead of watching Sesame Street while I get a shower. 

 He got some gel paints and also some finger paints with sponges for his birthday from Mason and Molly.  I think I have the same fear of paints as I did of play-doh, but it seems a little more justified.  But of course have we got them out yet?  Nope not yet.  This morning he asked to paint and I quick thought of a way he could “paint” without all the mess of actual paints.  (we’ll do actual paints soon, I promise!) 

He had some pictures colored with washable markers and so I gave him those to paint on.  He just used water on them like the water paint books and watched all of the colors swirl together.  What great fun!  The regular paper did rip some, but then we got out some poster board (bday present) and let him color on that and then “paint”.  I think he satisfied his painting fix for now, and allowed a little less mess this Sunday morning.  I know I need to let go of my anti-mess ways and let the kid be a kid.  Especially since he seems to be so into art. 

I know I’m his mom, and so I’m supposed to think this, but I really do love the color combinations he uses when he colors.  There’ve been so many pictures he’s done that I just love.  I should frame those and hang them up.  But he often feels like they are his and he doesn’t want me to mess with them. 

Here are some pictures of my little budding artist.  Could I be more proud?  Nope I don’t think so! 

 dsc04115.jpg

dsc04117.jpg  dsc04112.jpg 

These two pictures were ones I had on the fridge.  The first one is “people on a bus”.  

dsc04119.jpg  dsc04118.jpg 

2 Comments »

  1. these pictures are great, michelle! i love it when little ones start to really express themselves in their own ways.

    Comment by amber — August 19, 2007 @ 4:38 pm |Reply

  2. I know what you mean about the messes. It became so much more worth it once Ethan could sit there longer than 2 minutes and paint or play with play-dough. And once they get a bit older it’s not really as messy as you would think. Ethan does pretty good…of course we do have paint smocks, plastic covering the floor (but that is always there to catch the food), and a plastic placemat. So clean-up can be pretty quick too.

    Comment by Erin — August 19, 2007 @ 7:41 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

