Sew Much More

September 27, 2007

Sewing Books

Filed under: sewing projects — by michellew @ 12:29 pm

I’ve been keeping a list of intriguing sewing and quilting books lately.  So last night I went out to Barnes and Noble to check some out.  I pulled 8 or 9 books off the shelf and sat for a long while reading and completely enjoying myself.  By far the two books I spent most of my time looking at were Bend-the-Rules Sewing: The Essential Guide to a Whole New Way to Sew by Amy Karol and Last-Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts  by Joelle Hoverson.  I very nearly bought the patchwork one but I knew it was only $18 on amazon and it was almost $30 in the store.  So maybe sometime soon I’ll be placing an order.
 
Joelle had some suggested books listed in the back of hers which I’ve added to my wish list too.  I want to see some of them before I know I want to own them.  But one of them the library has, so I’m pumped!  I’ve already put it on hold. 

I’ve been wanting a good resource for quilting.  And after I made baby Cooley’s I especially wanted to find a good book.  I want to start making a quilt for Alice, maybe finish it by Christmas?  I don’t know, we’ll see.  I think the patchwork book will really be the resource I need. 

1 Comment »

  1. I have _Bend the Rules_ out from the library right now, and I really like it, but I think it might be a good book to borrow from a friend or library more than own if you have limited funds. I am not sure what the *best* book is, I’m trying to get as much as I can from B&N visits and the library. What model Janome do you have, by the way? I have janome envy. I have gotten to sew on my friend Molly’s some and it is a DREAM.

    Comment by kristen — September 29, 2007 @ 12:25 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

